How many stages are in the lash growth cycle?

Each person usually has between 150 and 200 natural eyelashes per eye on the upper eyelids and between 75 and 100 on the lower eyelids. There are three stages of the eyelash growth cycle. Anagen (the growth phase), Catágena (the transition phase) and Telogen (the resting phase). The eyelash growth cycle has three phases: anagen, catagen and telogen.

The eyelash growth cycle applies to both upper and lower eyelashes. Pulling and rubbing your eyelashes can cause your hair follicles to fall out and make it take longer for your eyelashes to grow. Eyelash serums are designed and formulated to increase the proteins and nutrients inside them, and work with the existing shape and cycle to provide you with longer, stronger and healthier eyelashes. The ingredients can also remove moisture from eyelashes and follicles and, being waterproof, are naturally more difficult to remove.

I hope you've learned more about the eyelash growth cycle and the importance of maintaining them. If an eyelash falls out (or is torn off) unnaturally during this phase, that follicle remains empty while it completes this phase and transitions to the telogen phase. During the initial stages of the anagen phase, eyelashes are too fragile to be applied with extensions. Within the 14-21 day cycle, the follicle will begin to shrink, which will cause the eyelash to shed and stop actively growing.

Anagenic eyelashes are attached to the follicle and will not fall out unless they are intentionally removed. Called the “transition phase”, the eyelashes maintain the length obtained in the anagen phase while waiting for the next phase. It's essential to keep your eyelashes strong and healthy so that they don't fall out during this stage and leave big holes in the lash line.

Armando Dunivan
Armando Dunivan

General music fan. Beer enthusiast. Amateur internet fanatic. Devoted twitter geek. Freelance bacon lover.